Skip to content

Grimey’s

August 17, 2011

Like so many in their early teens, I was overcome and drawn to popular “indie rock” MTV favorite bands. The likes of Fall Out Boy and Hellogoodbye blared through my speakers and all the while thinking to myself, “What a breakthrough find!”  However, it wasn’t until high school that I discovered the distinction between listening to candy-coated rock and real muscianship. Somehow, somewhere, something clicked and I was able to appreciate music without the help of hype, a previously established persona and bias. This was when I found my passion for music. Once a firey, 10-year-old’s lust for Good Charlotte evolved into an admiration for artists like Dance Gavin Dance, Saosin, Of Montreal, Mumford and Sons, Bright Eyes and As Tall as Lions. Each with its own genre allowed me to tread into deeper waters – Emarosa, Good Old War, Circa Survive, Matt Costa, The Whigs, Fleet Foxes and Bon Iver – and before I knew it I was a PureVolume Music regular.

The other day I accompanied my brother to Grimey’s, a new and used music store in the West End of Nashville. The one-story building overflowing with CDs and vinyl ranging fromOtis Redding and Sam Cooke to My Morning Jacket, Wilco and Iron Maiden, was already swarming with potential connoisseurs pursuing their prey and ready to pounce.

 As a wandered and flipped through the “preloved” music section, I became intrigued by the broad range of different sounds and personalities inhabiting the store. It had been a while since I sat down and listened to music – not just relaxing with friends to chill background noise, but an exploration of a band.  I started to feel that passion I had gently tucked away for a while begin to creep its way back. I do not consider myself musically inclined – I can strum out Green Day’s “Good Riddance” or Blink 182’s “Small Things” for hours – but I do like to think I have a decent ear, and I want to start to discover again and listen.

So that is what I plan to do here: explore music of all kinds, sharing along the way.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

